Pews in sunlight

Committee Hub FAQs

Download this page as a printable PDF

What was wrong with using Google Drive?

Committees and ministries have used Google accounts in ways outside their intended design. Using a single, shared Google account and password:

  • Places the files at risk of loss or accidental deletion
  • Limits access to files due to 2-factor authentication
  • Complicates committee transition/turnover
  • Creates a low-accountability, low-transparency environment
  • Blurs the line between personal and professional use for those signed into the Google account

The church does not have access, control, or ownership of files stored in Google accounts. There are a few additional concerns:

  • There are dozens of unique Google accounts and Google Drives used across the church’s committees and ministries. Keeping track of them and maintaining their security is nearly impossible.
  • This fragmented model prevents document portability, i.e., files and accounts aren’t talking to each other.

Why are we moving to Microsoft OneDrive?

In 2022, the Session reviewed and approved the use of Microsoft products rather than Google products. It has taken time to migrate files to Microsoft OneDrive and shift our administrative practices to cloud-based storage. Moving committee, ministry, and Session files to OneDrive is a result of the Session’s decision.

Why do I need to go through the hassle of authentication or creating a Microsoft account?

Authentication serves several purposes:

  • It ensures that sensitive information isn’t shared inappropriately or accidentally
  • It provides accountability and transparency regarding file access, editing, and sharing.

Most individuals will not need to create a Microsoft account and can authenticate with a “one-time password” – a code that is sent to your email address when you log in. Those who want to use a shared calendar or email inbox will need to set up a Microsoft account through their email.

Who owns the files uploaded into a committee hub?

When a file is uploaded to a committee hub or OneDrive, it becomes part of the group itself (and therefore the church). In other words, anything uploaded to a committee hub or OneDrive gives shared permissions to anyone in the group. In most cases, anyone in the group can move, delete, edit, or share a document. With a few notable exceptions—like member pledges and giving data—church staff have access to all files. As a general rule of thumb, nothing in a committee hub is private to the individual who uploaded it.

What if I accidentally delete something? What if I mess everything up?

You probably won’t. Deleted items are placed in a recycle bin, where they will be held for 30 days prior to permanent deletion. That being said, if you’re nervous about messing things up, contact the church office to find learning resources.

Why can’t we use our church management system, Realm, for this?

Realm has limited file sharing capabilities and does not store documents long-term.